Figures Sell Scientific Data to AI has gathered

3 datasets, sourced page by page and read again on a timetable, most recently 2026-10-28.

DatasetHeadline figureSourcesRead
Lab notebook software data terms 8 of 15 vendors 15 of read 2026-10-28
Who owns a research record, rule by rule 5 of 10 instruments 10 of read 2026-10-28
Who takes scientific and experimental data, and how 2 of 11 organisations 11 of read 2026-10-28

Where the figures come from

A dataset is planned around one question and a named set of source pages. When a page is read, the exact sentence that carries the number is saved, along with where and when we found it.

A person reviews each sentence before it counts and records the reason when one is turned away. The summary figures use one number per source, and one per breakdown where a source prices several. A source with no figure stays blank, and repeat reads show how the numbers change over time.

Lab notebook software data terms

8 of 15 lab notebook software vendors whose terms we read reserve the right to use their customers' data in aggregated or anonymised form, read 28 October 2026.

Who owns the business's data, by vendor: the business 8 of 15, not stated 7 of 15 (lab notebook software terms, read 28 October 2026).

CSV (108 rows) · JSON · Markdown

Who owns a research record, rule by rule

5 of the 10 rules read in the US and GB put a research record first with the award recipient, employer or institution, newest read 28 October 2026.

Who it puts first, by instrument: the award recipient, the employer or the institution 5 of 10, not stated 3 of 10, the maker of a database 1 of 10, the funder or the government 1 of 10 (10 instruments, read 28 October 2026).

CSV (33 rows) · JSON · Markdown

Who takes scientific and experimental data, and how

2 of the 11 organisations whose pages we read license or partner for scientific data from the labs and companies that hold it, read 28 October 2026.

How it comes by the data, by organisation: licenses a corpus it publishes or owns 4 of 11, runs a venue where holders list data for buyers 3 of 11, generates its own experimental data 2 of 11, licenses or partners for data from the labs and companies that hold it 2 of 11 (11 organisations, read 28 October 2026).

CSV (48 rows) · JSON · Markdown

Ask about my lab records